MAGPPA HISTORY

State Purchasing Agents Association Formed in 1983

Realizing the need to form an organization in order to assist purchasing agents with problems and questions, the State Purchasing Agents Association held its first meeting on March 8, 1983 in Jackson, Mississippi. With over 200 people in attendance, the following individuals worked diligently to form the State Purchasing Agents Association.

Don Buffum	Generva Harris	Henry Neal
Betty Ann Chisolm	Mickey Jenkins	Willard Oliver
Ann Cliburn	Harvard "Butch" Jordan, Jr.	Mary Jo O'Keefe
Jim Davis	Charles Lackey	Wayne Reed
Janice Duckworth	Ford Lassiter	Ron Rushing
Lamar Goodwin	Verna Lee	James Sanders
Ben Griffin	Roger Lyles	Betty Saxton
Christine Guillotte	Charley McCurdy	Oren Segrest, Jr.
Gary Gural	Sherry Matthews	Sid Tatum
Joanna Hall	Margie Millican	Louise Waldrom
Lampton Harry	Christine Mitchell	Marilyn Walsh
Andrew Harkins	Ann Moore	Bobby Walters

During 1984, the State Purchasing Agents Association changed its name to the Mississippi Association of Governmental Purchasing Agents (MAGPA) in order to include cities and counties in the organization. MAGPA applied to the National Institute of Governmental Purchasing (NIGP) for a provisional charter. During the first MAGPA Annual Conference in 1984, Lou Spangler, of NIGP, presented the NIGP Charter and performed the swearing-in of the 1984 Officers. The official MAGPA Charter Members are listed below:

Wayne Reed, Mississippi State University, 1984 MAGPA President Sherry Matthews, Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce, 1984 1st Vice President Charles R. Lackey, Mississippi Valley State University, 1984 2nd Vice President Geneva Harris, Mississippi State Tax Commission, 1984 Secretary James Sanders, Mississippi Department of Audit, 1984 Treasurer Chris Guillotte, Mississippi Research and Development, Immediate Past President

MAGPA History Short-Takes:

Between 1984 and 1985, Oren Segrest, Director of Bureau of Purchasing, suggested that the organization establish an award to be presented annually to a MAGPA member who contributed outstanding accomplishments in the field of public purchasing. Therefore, the Roy Saye Award was established in honor of Roy Saye, the former Director of Purchasing at Mississippi State University. The first Roy Saye Award was presented during the 1985 MAGPA Annual Conference.

During January, 1986, the first MAGPA Membership Directory was published by Willard Oliver. On March 3, 1986, the first issue of "MAGPA News Update", the official newsletter, was published and distributed.

Charlie McCurdy was the first person to receive his Certified Public Purchasing Officer (CPPO) in the State of Mississippi.

Regional meetings were first conducted during 1991 and Don Buffum and Debbie Hankins were instrumental in arranging these meetings.

The First Chapter of the Year presentation was presented at the NIGP Conference in July of 1992.

In March, 1993, in conjunction with NIGP, MAGPA sponsored its first Purchasing Month Celebration at Lefluer's Bluff State Park in Jackson, Mississippi. Ann Cliburn was honored with a plaque for outstanding service in the purchasing profession.

The first MAGPA Annual Conference was held in 1984 at the Biloxi Hilton Hotel with Gary Gural as the Program Chairman.

The first Roy Saye Award was presented to Wayne Reed at the 1985 MAGPA Annual Conference.

During 1992 and 1993, the first BYOB (Bring Your Own Bag) Lunches were held with Ann Cliburn and Beth Stone coordinating the meetings.

During 1996, property and materials management professionals joined MAGPA. Debbie Hankins, CPPO, served as President.

During the Purchasing Month Celebration in March, 1997, Thresa Hearn received the first Property Officer of the Year Award.

During 1999, the MAGPA WEB BABY was born during the first week of January, 1999.

During 1999, MAGPA submitted its first piece of legislation to the 1999 Legislature. This legislation became law July 1, 1999.

During 1999, MAGPA was recognized by the Mississippi Senate and presented with a Senate Resolution.

During 1999, instance message up dates brought an effective communication tool to our association.

During August, 1999, MAGPA changed its name to the Mississippi Association of Governmental Purchasing/Property Agents (MAGPPA).

During 2000, MAGPPA received the NIGP Large Chapter of the Year 1st Runner Up Award for their hard work and dedication during 1999.

During 2001, Renea Haycraft, CPPO, was awarded the Purchasing Manager of the Year Runner Up Award.

In 2004, MAGPPA hosted the NIGP Forum in Biloxi, Mississippi.

In 2007, the MAGPPA Web Baby grew into the new version of our website called Chapter Manager.

If you know more MAGPPA History Short-Takes that should be included please contact one of the Executive Committee Members. MAGPPA would like to thank Betty Pyron, Chris Guillotte and Willard Oliver for their research that assisted in the preparation of this information.